1.1  The Department of Education Support Services (DESS) was created to manage and implement academic content-based intervention programmes of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) for public tertiary institutions in the country. These are essentially non-infrastructural intervention programmes, which include the following: 

i. Academic Manuscript to Book (AMB)/Higher Education Book Development Fund (BDF), 

ii. Library Development Intervention, and iii. Institution-Based Research Intervention (IBR) The Library of the Fund is run under the jurisdiction of the Education Support Services (ESS) Department.

a) Advising the Management and the Board of Trustees on all academic and content-based TETFund intervention programmes/project within its purview;

b) Coordination, Management and implementation of all TETFund academic and content-based intervention programmes/projects in beneficiary institutions;

c) Receives and process submissions/proposals from beneficiaries for disbursement with respect to the various intervention lines assigned to the department; 

d) Acts as the Secretariat of the Education Programmes Committee (EPC) of the Board of Trustee; e) Conducting Verification visits to project/programmes coordinated and managed by ESS Department. f) Represents TETFund in National Education Policy formulating meetings (i.e. JCCE/NCE meetings) and in any National Education Development, Improvement and Research implementation projects; and g) Performing any other duty as may be assigned by the Executive Secretary of TETFund. 

3.1 The Department is currently headed by Dr. Salihu Girei Bakari, Acting Director and ably assisted by Mr. Okunlola Sunkanmi Kolapo, Assistant Director and Mr. Abdulmumin Banji Oniyangi, Assistant Director. Staff strength of the Department is 40 with distribution as follows: Management Staff - 3  Senior Staff   - 31  Clerical Staff   - 6  Total number  - 40.

3.2  There are 3 Divisions in the Department, and these are structured along the current functions the department now handles:   Library Development Division;  Institution-Based Research Division; and  Academic Manuscript to Book/Professional Association Journal/Book Development Division.